top of page

Review: "A Court of Frost and Starlight," by Sarah J. Maas


A Court of Frost and Starlight: Sarah J. Maas

Purchased: Amazon

Rating:

Summary

Feyre, Rhys, and their close-knit circle of friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly-changed world beyond. But Winter Solstice is finally near, and with it, a hard-earned reprieve. Yet even the festive atmosphere can't keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, she finds that those dearest to her have more wounds than she anticipated--scars that will have far-reaching impact on the future of their Court.

***SPOILERS AHEAD***

-----THIS IS YOUR CHANCE TO TURN BACK-----

Discussion

- I'm not sure how to put into words how I feel or felt about this book. I feel extremely sad because I know this is it for Rhysand and Feyres story. And I'm going to be super honest with you if there is no Rhysand there is no me! (That made no sense but you get my point I will DIE without him!!) I know I'm being dramatic but I LOVE

him!! My love for their story has probably caused me to be biased and I'm not ashamed of that at all. With that being said I did really like this book and that is why I've given it 4 coffee mugs!

- My refusal to pick a favorite character stems from the fact that I love how the whole Inner Circle works. They all get along so well and they have their moments where just like family you sometimes want them to put a sock in it. I have to say it works really well and it remind me of my family. I love how they have their little banters but they still have each others backs. One part that really had my laughing was when Rhysand is thinking his dirty thoughts about Feyre and Amren notices his scent. I thought it was so funny how she was like "You'll make me vomit."

- Ugh Nesta that beeeeeee.....!

I thoroughly dislike her and that's just me putting it in a nice way that I absolutely can't stand her. She is being so dramatic about having been turned High Fae and I just don't get it. There are worse things in life! She needs to chill and get over it. Rhysand and Feyre went through way worse (like actual torture!) and they are still trying to make things work.

- Lets talk about Az and Elain! I freaking ship them so hard! Yes I said it and I will never take it back! When he takes the dish of potatoes from her then makes everyone wait for her to eat! Can they not make me die of happiness! They just belong together I

know it. Mates be damned! Don't get me wrong I like Lucien but they aren't a good fit. I mean Az is all quite and so is Elain they are like PB & J!!! Lets not forget how in ACOWAR he comforts her with his mere presence.

Guys it's meant to be and I'll fight anyone who says otherwise (joking).

- I know a lot of people may say they hated when they saw what was left of Tamlin and his court. I'd be lying if I said it didn't make me a little sad. But to be honest the part I really hated was when Nesta tells Feyre to pay her rent then and only then would she show up to Solstice. Like!!! What!!!!?? You are a horrible person! Elain loves you and wants to see you but instead you are being a selfish

coward and asking for money to do something you should just do. Girl get your $h* together!!

- Most memorable quote:

"To the blessed darkness for which we are born, and to which we return."

Final Thoughts

- I really enjoyed this book and it's as if I finally got the chance to see what really goes down in their daily lives. You know what with there being no enemies threating to kill everyone and all that. It was fun to see how they interacted with each other and how they were all just trying to heal after having gone through so much. I have to say I wasn't the biggest fan of all the POV's. If I wasn't careful I'd read in Feyres POV only to realize it was Rhysand the whole time. Definitely not cool! But hey that's what happens when you don't pay attention. I'm not sure how I feel about the spin-off series but I'll be giving them a try because you should always give something the benefit of the doubt. At least that's what I think but I'm terribly sad that this is it for Rhysand and Feyre. I'm sure they will make "guest" appearances but I need MORE!! How do you guys feel about the spin-off series? I'm not excited about who the story is about because by this point you should know I dislike this person very much! Well one person not the other.

Featured Reviews
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
What I'm Reading

Categories

bottom of page