top of page

DNF: "The Mortal Instruments," by Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments: Cassandra Clare

Purchased: Thrift Books

Rating: (There will be no rating as that would be unfair.)

*This post is on the first few books in the series NOT just book one.

Summary

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It's hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy? This is Clary's first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It's also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace's world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know...

Spoilers!!!!

If you haven’t read this book and are still considering reading it then I recommend you pick it up before continuing so that you are not spoiled!

Discussion

-  Even though I'm a sucker for action, adventure, and YES romance I just wasn't feeling these books! I read, I believe, the first 3 and the third one wasn't cutting it for me so I just had to stop. I felt like I wasn't getting anywhere with the story, of course this is just my opinion. I also wasn't the biggest fan of Clary or any of the other characters for that matter either, so that's another reason I couldn't continue the series.

 - I'm not sure if there would be anything that I wish was different or that I could change.

- Although I did enjoy the first few books I don't think I'll be picking them back up. At this point for me it's just time to move on to some other books. I won't say I'll never pick them up again as I have no way of knowing that.

Final thoughts

- I know these books are loved by many and I desperately wish that I felt the same as the reason I started reading these was because I wanted to read the Infernal Devices Trilogy! That being said I may just go ahead and skip to the Infernal Devices as I feel like I'd really enjoy them. What were your thoughts on this series? Did you love these books? Or did you DNF them like me?

Featured Reviews
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
What I'm Reading

Categories

bottom of page