top of page

Review: "A Court of Wings and Ruin," by Sarah J. Maas


A Court of Wings and Ruin: Sarah J. Maas

Purchased: Barnes & Noble

*Please note that this book is intended for a mature audience.

Rating:

Summary

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series. Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's manoeuvrings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit – and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords – and hunt for allies in unexpected places. In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

Spoilers!!!!

If you haven’t read this book and are still considering reading it then I recommend you pick it up before continuing so that you are not spoiled!

Discussion

- I really liked this book but it does NOT compare to A Court of Mist and Fury! The character development was pretty awesome but I just felt let down overall by this book. I also really didn't like all the lose ends that were left with some of the characters.

- My favorite character had to be Azriel, I really enjoyed his scenes with Elain. I loved the way he would just offer her is presence as comfort to her. I honestly really wanted them to end up together, forget about the mating bond please and move on to this sweet man for goodness sake Elain!

- Oh my gosh Nesta! There is no doubt about it that through out this book I really did not like her. I get that she has issues but come one get over it! Everyone has issues and Feyre is just trying to do the best she can considering the circumstances. Why couldn't she be at least a little more grateful?

- I loved when Feyre finally returns home and she falls to her knees crying and Rhysand was trying to act like he was O.K.! I was like Rhys honey I know you are not that chill right now! Then he goes to her on his knees as well and uncovers her hands from her eyes and proceeds to carry her upstairs!!! I literally couldn't contain my smile I'm sure I looked completely mad!

- It was beyond messed up when we find Ianthe all over Lucine because you can clearly see she is forcing herself on him. She was not a nice person and I am so glad that Feyre is able to help Lucine get out of that situation.

- Most memorable quote:

"A nightmare, I'd told Tamlin. I was the nightmare."

Final thoughts

- If you read A Court of Mist and Fury then you know the cliff hanger it left off on and how desperate some of us were, yes I was one of them, to find out what would happen next. Well I have to admit I was disappointed! In all honesty I wanted Rhysand to go in guns blazing trying to get Feyre back home to her friends and family and away from Tamlins clutches. Yes, I know Feyre can take care of herself blah blah but you have to admit it would have been cool! Suffice to say I was a bit displeased with the way things went in this book. I do however think you should read it if you've already read the previous ones because obviously you want to know what happens next! Also like I mentioned in the beginning I was really not satisfied with the way some of the characters were just left with no resolutions. I'm aware that there are supposed to be more stories in this land but I'm not OK with having to wait even longer to piece together some of these characters. IF that's even what the new stories turn out to be about.

Featured Reviews
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
What I'm Reading

Categories

bottom of page