top of page

Review: "Shatter Me," by Tahereh Mafi


Shatter Me: Tahereh Mafi

Purchased: Amazon (Kindle ebook)

Rating:

Summary

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color. The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now. Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

***SPOILERS AHEAD***

-----THIS IS YOUR CHANCE TO TURN BACK-----

Discussion

- I wasn't super impressed with this story however I still enjoyed it. One thing I struggled with the most was the writing style. Although I thought it was getting easier to deal with I still didn't love it. I hated the fact that there was so much repetition!! This is why I gave it 2 coffee mugs.

- I think Adams little brother was my favorite character! I know he probably didn't really understand what was going on with Adam and Juliette but he was still in tune at the same time. I know that probably doesn't make sense but that's what I felt! His timing was hilarious when Adam and Juliette start having too much fun if you know what I mean!

- Kenji!! I know the guy might mean well but his comments annoyed me to no end! He's a smart mouth and I don't find it the least bit funny! Sure I'm super glad that he came to the rescue because they would have been doomed otherwise but ugh at what cost!? My freaking sanity that's what it cost me!! (Ok yes I'm exaggerating!) Not going to lie I wanted them to end up back with Warner because he's just seems very interesting to me.

- I had two favorite parts none of which involved Adam sorry NOT sorry! The first part was when Juliette realizes that Adam isn't that special because Warner can touch her too!! Like WTF is going on!? The second part was when Warner catches Juliette and he finally makes his move albeit he got shot in the process, but I was extremely curious as to his fellings towards here. (Obviously besides the obsession!) Yes I've fallen in love with him! Don't you judge me!

- When Warner forces Juliette to harm that poor baby I wanted to scream!! What kind of sick person does that!? I am NOT ok with that. I really wanted her to beat the living daylights out of him.

- Most memorable quote:

His smile is laced with dynamite. "Go to sleep." "Go to hell." He works his jaw. Walks to the door. "I'm working on it."

Final Thoughts

- Now I know I didn't love this book but I still highly recommend it because of the novella, Destroy Me, that falls between this book and book 2. That book made all my suffering worth it!! And yes my suffering was all due to the writing style. Guys I just cant get over it. I really disliked how Juliette was just repeating things over and over then the way she tried describing things. It was just really unnecessary. I could have survived the repetition but some of the "poetic," phrases really didn't do anything for me. Also what was with Adam and Juliette just falling in love just because? Like why are you all even drawn to each other? I need more information!! So book 2 here I come!! In case anyone was wondering I will be reviewing Destroy Me because that book made me want to continue this series. So please do NOT skip out on it just because it's a novella trust me and read it! Let me know what you all think of the GIF's. Are they too much? I actually really like them!

Featured Reviews
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
What I'm Reading

Categories

bottom of page