top of page

Review: "Destroy Me," by Tahereh Mafi


Destroy Me: Tahereh Mafi

Purchased: Amazon (Kindle ebook)

Rating:

Summary

In Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me, Juliette escaped from The Reestablishment by seducing Warner—and then putting a bullet in his shoulder. But as she’ll learn in Destroy Me, Warner is not that easy to get rid of. . . Back at the base and recovering from his near-fatal wound, Warner must do everything in his power to keep his soldiers in check and suppress any mention of a rebellion in the sector. Still as obsessed with Juliette as ever, his first priority is to find her, bring her back, and dispose of Adam and Kenji, the two traitors who helped her escape. But when Warner’s father, The Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment, arrives to correct his son’s mistakes, it’s clear that he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner simply cannot allow. Set after Shatter Me and before its forthcoming sequel, Unravel Me, Destroy Me is a novella told from the perspective of Warner, the ruthless leader of Sector 45.

***SPOILERS AHEAD***

-----THIS IS YOUR CHANCE TO TURN BACK-----

Discussion

- Holy CRAP where do I even start?? First if you are reading this series read this Novella before book two I promise you won't regret it!! Ok so this really brought Warner into perspective for me and I loved it!

- Obviously my favorite character was Warner!! We get to see the real him NOT the terrible person he seems to be. We get to really see why he's made the choices that he's made, which at first I was sure he was EVIL! Now I'm sure he's not!!!

- Warner's dad is the WORST!! He is messing so badly with Warner's emotions it's no wonder he's not the most emotionally available. Yet he still tries to be good in his own way. His dad is the real monster in the story!

- I wanted to cry when Warner feeds the stray dog and he laughs! (Dogs are my weakness!) The fact that he hasn't laughed in so long or felt actual happiness is freaking heart breaking. I hate that his circumstances have made him who he is and I wonder what he would have been like if things were different. This whole scene just really made me fall in LOVE with Warner's character!! I want him to be Endgame so bad!! He and Juliette have so much in common and with all they've been through they seem like the perfect fit.

- I was so angry when I realized why Warner actually killed Seamus Fletcher in Shatter Me. That sick JERK deserved so much worse for torturing his wife and kids like he did! Then his dad had to go and kill them like the monster he is because he thought if Fletcher was a rebel then they all were. Which was NOT the case, Warner had to use that as a cover.

- Most memorable quote:

"Love is a heartless bastard."

Final Thoughts

- I can't recommend this Novella enough!!! I really hope that Juliette and Warner will get the chance to be together. He has his issues but I feel like he has so much potential to be a much greater person. He just needs help standing up to his father and breaking the horrible cycle of mental abuse! I really need the Villain to get the girl in this series, can it please happen book Gods!? I feel like Warner is so much more deserving of Juliette's love!! Honestly though this really saved the entire series for me because had it not been for this Novella I probably would have taken ages to finish the series. Let me know who you want to be Endgame!! I really need Warner to get this!!!

Featured Reviews
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
What I'm Reading

Categories

bottom of page