top of page

Review: "Because You Love to Hate Me," edited by Ameriie

Because You Love to Hate Me: edited by Ameriie

Purchased: BookOutlet

Rating:

Summary

In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains' points of view. These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like "Medusa," Sherlock Holmes, and "Jack and the Beanstalk" provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains' acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage--and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!

***SPOILERS AHEAD***

-----THIS IS YOUR CHANCE TO TURN BACK-----

Discussion

- Although I enjoyed most of these stories there were some that I simply didn't like. I also didn't care for the bloggers "commentary," at the end of said stories. I'm not entirely sure what they were supposed to be but I would have been happy without them. My disappoint was mostly due to the fact that these bloggers didn't get to write their own stories! 

- In asking myself who my favorite character was out of the many I found it difficult. There was one that really caught at my heart and that was "Death," from the story "Death Knell." It was really hard for me to keep it together and resist the tears that wanted to fall on the pages!

- Goddess of Purity I choose YOU! (Did you get that Pokémon reference?) You know that character you wish you could just kick in the face? Well this is that character! She was a total Beeeee!!! How could she go and blame that girl for what the stupid god of the Sea did to her! (By the way she's from the story Beautiful Venom.) Rape is NOT EVER the victims fault! Not only that but she had to go and add insult to injury by cursing her. Hasn't she suffered enough?!

- I loved when Nerit from the "Sea Witch," got her revenge! I know it sounds evil to think or feel but lets be honest that guy was horrible! She had already gone through so much for his love and he broke her. But yet he had the opportunity to have a happily ever after? I think NOT!

- My least favorite part was when I realized that Grace in "Death Knell," hadn't actually fallen in love with Death like I'd thought. I know its unrealistic but I live in the land of make-believe and damit I wanted this small victory! But NO she had to go and try to kill him. I'm still not sure if she did or not. Maybe she did and that's why she's also Death or maybe she replaced him?

- Most memorable quote:

"You have to be in charge of telling your own story. And sometimes the princess needs to get off her ass, pick up a sword, and slay the dragon herself."

Final Thoughts

- I didn't love this book and as I mentioned before I only liked some of the stories. I'm still very disappointed about the fact that the bloggers didn't get to add their own stories. That being said there were a few stories I really did enjoy but I'm not sure if that really makes this book worth it. If you are looking for some short easy reads in-between books you might like this. Just be warned that they aren't all great! What did you think about this book? Let me know in the comments bellow.

Featured Reviews
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
What I'm Reading

Categories

bottom of page