top of page

Review: "The Kiss of Deception," by Mary E. Pearson

The Kiss of Deception: Mary E. Pearson

Purchased: Amazon

Rating:

Summary

She flees on her wedding day. She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor's secret collection. She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father. She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan. The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can't abide. Like having to marry someone she's never met to secure a political alliance. Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

Spoilers!!!!

If you haven’t read this book and are still considering reading it then I recommend you pick it up before continuing so that you are not spoiled!

Discussion

- Overall I found it very hard to continue reading this book. It captured me in the first few chapters but then when she settled in the new town her stay seemed to drag on. Not to mention that I was so confused with who was who concerning Kaden and Rafe. I went almost the entire book thinking Kaden was the prince and Rafe was the assassin!! I'm not entirely sure if that was my fault (probably) or the books.

- I loved the older lady that Lia encounters at the camp site Kaden takes her to while she's captured by him and his entourage. She was so nice and so helpful and wise! All the other ladies in that camp were super nice as well and I loved this.

- My least favorite character was the father of Pauline's baby! He is so horrible to have made all those false promises to her all the while doing the same to others. On top of that Lia was then forced to lie to Pauline about the whereabouts of him, so she said he was dead! This is so going to come back and bite Lia in the A**!

- OK so I know when someone asks you what your favorite part of a book or movies is many people pick a really epic moment. Well that's not the case for me in this book! My favorite part was when Lia arrives at the camp famished and she asks for goat cheese even going so far as to think that if they don't have any she will gladly make it herself. Now lets be honest I LOVE cheese, maybe not goat cheese, so I just found this part spoke to my cheese loving soul!

- Oh my goodness now to the part that ripped out my heart while I tired frantically to reclaim it! When Lias brother died it really hit me! I could feel her pain as she was screaming while being held back by Kaden. Not only that but when she kisses his cheek right before she buries him!! My heart just couldn't handle it! It was so nice to see Kaden and some of the others try to help without actually helping so they wouldn't get in trouble.

- Most memorable quote:

"Once upon a time, there was a man as great as the gods... But even the great can tremble with fear. Even the great can fall."

Final thoughts

- This book started off great then it fell short for me as I felt the story wasn't progressing but then near the end the story picked up again. As much as I hated going through more than half of the book a bit bored I have to say the ending sort of redeemed itself. That being said I really want to know what happens next especially considering where we left off in this book. I NEED to know what happens next! What were your thoughts on this book? Will you be reading the next book? Let me know in the comments.

Featured Reviews
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
What I'm Reading

Categories

bottom of page