top of page

Review: "Heartless," by Marissa Meyer


Heartless: Marissa Meyer

Purchased: WalMart

Rating:

Summary

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen. At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship. Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

Spoilers!!!!

If you haven’t read this book and are still considering reading it then I recommend you pick it up before continuing so that you are not spoiled!

Discussion

- This book makes you look at the queen of Hearts in a whole new light. I loved every moment of it and was on the verge of tears in some parts! My fragile heart just couldn't take it!

- My favorite character? Ummm, Jest!! Of course no questions asked or doubt what so ever! Can he please be real? And if so can I marry him?

- I'd have to say my least favorite character would have to be Catherine's mom if not Cath herself in some parts. One because why are her parents projecting on her!? Give her a chance to do what she loves! Second because Cath, "Get your sh** together please," like open your eyes woman!! And do yourself a favor and run away with Jest like YESTERDAY!

- Cath's first tea party with the Hatter and all the other crazy characters was so much fun! (Except for that bit, you know where that one animal gets taken away.) Especially when Jest says goodnight to Cath after their eventful nigh. Swoon worthy? I think yes!!

- Leas favorite part? I think we all know where this is going! In one of the final chapters where we feel elated because we have fooled ourselves into thinking this will have a beautiful wonderful ending. Was I the only one? Well boy was I kidding myself because my heart was screaming at Cath at the top of it's lungs. As messed up as it would have been for her to have not gone back for her friend she totally screwed everyone else in the process! And I cant stand that fact and what consequences it had on Jest's life!!

- Most memorable quote:

"It's a dangerous thing to unbelieve something only because it frightens you"

Final thoughts

- Although this book is a retelling it's characters are completely unique and their own. I 100% recommend this book! It's beautiful and heartbreaking all at once. Never have I ever wanted to scream at a character so much and wanted things to go so differently than what I knew was planned. Even if you aren't a fan of retellings this book is well worth giving a shot.

Featured Reviews
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
What I'm Reading

Categories

bottom of page